Looking for a career change - advice needed

I was hoping to get some advice from this forum.

I’ve recently passed level 2 of the CFA exam and plan on taking level 3 even though I haven’t signed up yet. I have an engineering background (bachelors and masters in engineering, no finance classes whatsoever - a decision I regret big time), and have worked at 3 different asset managers since I graduated college and keep getting backed into a corner where I’m seen as the “only person who can work with IT” there fore that’s all my job boils down to - working with IT, being a business analyst, back office type stuff etc. Not very glamorous and I def want to move on. For your reference I’m 33 and have worked in the industry for 8 years now - so I’m not a millennial who thinks I’m entitled to something better haha :slight_smile:

So I’m trying to figure out how to get myself out of these IT-related/support roles and I would love to work more with the front office (as in, join the front office now or eventually). At my firm, they’re pretty anal about Associates backgrounds and insist on hiring those who have i-banking experience for 2 years and ask them to leave after 2-3 years and get their MBA (which I don’t plan on doing). So I’m definitely lacking in that aspect, even though I don’t mind starting at the bottom and working hard to learn. I need to be taught but I’m sure I can catch on and do as good a job as anyone else with a credit background. My firm is super selective with Traders as well…they hired 2 traders in like 15 years or something.

I know engineers make the move all the time from engineering to finance, but I’m trying to figure out how to do it myself. I’m trying to network and express my interests to several people at my firm (tricky because I don’t want to be irritating) and in the city that I live in, but if anyone has more concrete advice for me or can share similar stories that would be helpful.