Need advice on career and further education

I graduated with a BBA (Finance) in 2016. I have been working at an investment banking KPO in India for the past 5 months. I don’t like the work and was looking to pursue higher studies. I’m considering an MSc. in Finance but would it help me land better jobs where I’m actually using my knowledge of finance and not just editing pitchbooks or hunting for information (tasks which anyone with a month’s training can perform) ? I know that the syllabus of an MSc. in Finance and CFA overlap by quite a lot but I’m really unsure of what to do. I’m open to an MBA as well.

Thanks in advance.

Why did you go into IB - didn’t you know it was going to be like this … with generous compensation usually and high hours?

Man up and stay for at least another year before thinking about a change… most people do the MSC in Finance to GET INTO IB, and most people get into IB for the EXITS. Quitting after just 5 months makes you look weak in the eyes of future employers.

I am sure he knew about it but probably fell victim to some of the biases such as “nah can’t be that bad” or “not me. I should get off work on time and maybe 1 or 2 late days a week.”

The similar biases 90% of today’s CFA candidates make…“I am in operations right now but as soon as I pass CFA exams it should open doors into front office roles…”

The latter happens all the time? Maybe not at Goldman or top funds but not sure what you are implying.

huh come again?

If you are implying that people who are in operations cannot move to FO roles at smaller shops internally, or even externally at a different small shop (AUM 500MM under) on the strength of obtaining the CFA charter, I disagree. I’ve personally seen several people do it.

i too have seen several people do it.

I’m guessing that is the 10 percent you are referring to then lol

yup