Career Advice

Hi,

I am a recent graduate 3 months ago from a State University, and registered for CFA level 1. My GPA is 3.40. I know it’s nearly zero chances to get into investment banking. so I haven been applying to all kinds of finance-related entry-jobs. However, I did not receive any responses from those employers. Someone told me to start low as a teller in a bank and climb the ladder. However, I found out that it is impossible to get promoted to corporate positions.

Now, I feel very stressful and not able to find a job that has potential growth or at least some financial experience.

Please advice me on what I should do.

Your profile lists your location as the United States, but you don’t write like you’re from the U.S. So, I’m not sure if you are real.

I am from the U.S. but English is not my first language.

Don’t be a bank teller.

Where did you intern between junior/senior year?

I am trying to get another job. I have applied to so many different types of jobs such as auditor, staff accountant, financial analyst- entry level, trading assistant and etc. Unfortunately, I did not receive any response from those employers. That’s why I am extremely stressful now since the spring recruiting season is over.

I don’t have any internship because I was majoring in something else. I changed my major to finance during the last quarter of my junior year.

Start an excel sheet. Apply to every job in your qualifying country. 100 applications is usually an interview. You should be able to get 10 interviews. Track this on the sheet. If you’re not doing anything you should be able to apply to 10-50 jobs per day. Use indeed.com.

Also, network network network. Reach out to alumni from your school who are in finance.

never retail banking…