CAIA vs. CFA for REIT Analyst?

Looking for insight into which is better for a position as a REIT Analyst? I seem to see more CFA’s when I look at qualitifcations of people who work in analytical roles in the REIT industry.

That said, I seem to recall hearing the CAIA designation does cover REITs to some degree while the CFA barely touches real estate at all. My background is commercial real estate investment and valuation from the property level perspective. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

CFA is better than CAIA for almost all fields. Although CAIA has more specific information on certain topics, CFA is considered to be more difficult, covers a wide range of topics, and generally has more recognition.

What kind of REIT analyst are we talking here? Buyside, sell-side, actually working as an analyst for a REIT?

In any case, CFA is definitely more highly regarded. I cannot say specifically what the CAIA offers in terms of knowledge of REITs, but having covered REITs and now in REPE, the CFA will give you all of the tools you need. If you want to learn industry specific items, just read real estate books (https://www.perenews.com/publication_products_list/?publication=15), take an Argus class, listen to REIT conference calls, etc…

Aside from that, an MS in real estate would also serve you well.

Thanks for the replies. ^Blackbelt: It could be any of the above (buyside, sell-side or directly for a REIT). Was thinking the buy or sell side. Honestly, I am not sure what an analyst for a REIT actually does?

I actually have a M.S. in Real Estate but the program was heavily focused on R.E. development as opposed to finance though finance topics were definitely covered.

I have used Argus in a professional capacity but not for a REIT (used to do office, industrial and retail valuations). Currently, I focus on hotels which is exclusively excel oriented. I am sure the CFA would be great…probably the most powerful tool I lack.