How to Successfully Relocate and Transition Jobs

Hey Guys,

I need some advice on how to successfully relocate to Southern California. I am a CFA Charterholder, a CFP Certificant, and I have an MBA (finance) from a regionally reputable school. I have three years of experience working as an investment analyst for an RIA. Not only do I want to move states but I also want to move into an analyst role at a large asset management firm (PIMCO, TCW, etc.). I would like some input on what I should be doing and whether or not I have a chance to get into institutional asset management. Any advice would be appreciated.

Yes, why wouldn’t you have a chance? I mean PIMCO Front Office might be a stretch/tougher. I looked at TCW a couple weeks ago and they do not seem as prestigous so I think you would have a good shot. Why Southern California though? People are leaving there in droves, well LA anyway.

Just curious, why are people leaving LA?

Supposedly it is expensive and job prospects are not as good as other places, like northern California.

Well, the reason I’m asking is because I’ve done the whole song and dance of applying through various companies’ websites and I haven’t got any call backs at all. I’m thinking of what I could be doing ‘wrong’ but I can’t find anything. The only thing I keep coming back to is the address on my resume is my current address and not a California address. So i’m thinking that companies’ are just overlooking my resume because they think that I need relocation assistance plus it’s just more logistically difficult to interview an out of state candidate. What do you think; are companies seeing me as a more expensive hire which is causing them to pass on me?