Credit analyst vs Fund accountant

Hello,

Im currently studying for lvl II and my long term objective its to work in investments funds , i.e portfolio manager. Ofc this is a objective most of us have, but not many reach it. At the moment I have two jobs offers, one as credit analyst for auto industry and the other as fund accountant for a well known bank. Which offer do you think have the most potential to boost my cv in order to reach my final objective? I believe as a fund account, even if its inside the industry, the job itself is very limited and doesn’t allow you to do financial analysis as required in the credit analyst role.

Hope you can help me.

kind regards

DO NOT TAKE THE FUND ACCOUNTING JOB.

^ +1000

this isnt even a real question. And this is coming from a fund accountant. Dont even think about it, credit analyst

the CFO at our fund was a fund accountant so was our controller. The CFO made just a hair over million last year and the controller made 120k + 100% last year.

Yeah but how much did your CIO make last year? You should compare people with similar seniority.

the cio is the president of the fund. can’t compare but i get your point.

my main point was that fund accountant isn’t the end of the world and front office is not be all and end all. the cfo is in his mid 30s and the controller is in his late 20s. i don’t care where you live…the cfo is doing well for himself.

Yeah your CFO and controllers are killing it for sure, I think people also need to think about whether they would prefer the work of a CFO or someone from the direct investment side though because that can make a huge difference on longevity of their careers.