How likely find job - No research experience (edited)

I have 7 years of experience in various financial roles (1 year at VC, 4 years at a neuroscience startup, 2 years in FP&A for a 1,000 employee logistics company). I didn’t attend an Ivy League but went to a well known university, BU, and have a bachelor in Finance.

I’d love to get into Private Equity/Research which was one of the main deciding drivers in pursuing the CFA.

Any thoughts on how challenging it might be to land a job in the above mentioned fields with no relevant prior work experience? (once I hopefully complete all 3 CFA exams)

CFA has nothing to do with IB.

CFA has nothing to do with career changes. Check out gmatclub.com for career changes.

Also, considering you have 7 years of experience as FP&A/Finance Manager, you’d be taking a big pay cut by going into IB. Not to mention you’d be slaving away hours being an excel b!tchboy for someone your age - IF you get the job.

Thank you for the quick responses.

What about Portfolio Manager/Research Analyst positions considering no prior experience in those fields either?

Ha, I doubt it about the pay cut, I’m in the last stage of receiving my green card (hopefully in 6 - 8 months) which has been a big limitation in my career advancement/pay potential opportunities. That’s why I’m hoping a CFA + Green Card would improve my chances of landing a better position with growth opportunities.

MBA

Food cart is where it’s at nowadays. Roti on Wheels, my idea - don’t steal. Tanks.

sounds like a perfect time for a GMAT. Good stuff in the GMAT world especially in the +700 circle.

Have seen so many people change their careers 180 degrees with a top20 MBA in the US. Sure it takes long time and yes, it is very expensive but hey you get what you paid for right?