Finance careers in Bay Area

I have recently shifted to San Jose,California and looking for career opportunities in the Bay Area (have a valid EAD). As its quite concentrated in Tech sector, I wanted to get an understanding of finance opportunities from your experiences…

I am a Chartered Accountant from India - 3 years of experience with Goldman Sachs (India) in FP&A role. I wrote the CFA Level III exams last weekend and now in search of financial analysis or equity research related job profiles…

Would appreciate any suggestions/recommendations that you’d have for me.

Thanks in advance.

From my experience, finance jobs there are limited but they do exist. I would guess that you will end up in the corporate finance division of one of the many non-finance companies in the area. A role in equity research or something similar will be quite unlikely. There are some mutual fund and hedge fund type companies in the area, but they tend to hire in small numbers, and the bigger companies tend to recruit from the same, established channels.

there are crap tonnnnnn of private equity in the area. I don’t mean real estate PE firms but venture PE firms. There are quite a few hedge funds out there not to mention Google Capital which is basically working for a very large, very rich hedge fund and venture fund in one shop. Then there are corporate strategy departments (M&A teams) within tech firms such as Facebook, Cisco, Linkedin etc. in the SFO area.

oh you were FP&A (forget my previous post up there) so finance manager or if you push it hard maybe corporate controller could be your next position.

You can work as finance manager for Google and make $220k a year. easy hours, all paid benefits, free/discounted on-campus restaurants and cafes

Check out OneWire