How to get into PE/IB? Help from experienced people!

Hey guys!

I just cleared my level III and wanted to get into PE/IB. How do i prepare myself? What are these guys looking for?

Take the caia now

lol, no.

How old are you, that is your educational/work background, are you any good? Etc etc. Assuming you really want an answer, these details are quite material.

i got into pe/ib as soon as i gave l3 and cleared

Top 5 MBA for PE. Top 15 for IB is ok (though BB IB you’ll need top 5-10).

I interviewed as a non-traditional hire for one of each lately, one small PE, and a MM IB who is one of the strongest in its industry. What I got from it was PE is very hard to crack without IB experience (they hired an ex banker). IB is possible but you need to bring very strong industry experience. Before I showed up, I studied every deal their team did in the last year (they asked some very detailed questions which I was able to answer), memorized all the key metrics, and formed my own opinion on the major ones. I got asked repeatedly to walk them through a very specific type of valuation model used in my field and I did it no problem.

Both don’t really care about the CFA… I think out of the 12 or so total people who interviewed me, 1 asked me about it and I said, “felt like it was a quick and easy way to learn the basics of finance without going back to school” and pushed forward. If they don’t have it, their bosses don’t have it, and peers at other firms don’t have it, it’s not worth explaining. Since I didn’t go the traditional route, I wanted to make them comfortable, no need to create a division.

I got super close to an offer… they said as soon as a 1-2 year analyst leaves, I’m in without any more interviews because the MD (who I didn’t meet with) wanted someone with just a bit more experience. I had 1 live offer and several more coming, so I couldn’t wait. Rather not say what and where, but wasn’t IB.