Jumping into back office!

Hi guys,

I’m a 2015 graduate living in Toronto. I just passed my CFA level 2 and I’m trying to get into the financial analyst position. I currently have no relevant experience as I just have an accounts payable jobs and a part-time job as a bank teller. I have heard that jumping into back office can get you closer than the current jobs I have now. But I would like to hear anyones thoughts on this especially someone who was in a similar situation.

I was told in a previous post to learn programming and financial modeling in my free-time. Can anyone recommend a good course to take. I have currently tried to push myself through agencies as well. Can anyone recommend a good agency that may push me in the right directions. Most of the agencies try to put me into junior accounting role which I would be ok with but these companies often don’t have a finance department.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Screw finance. Learn javascript and golang to become a webdeveloper, much cooler

If you do a quick search, youll find that most people on here will tell you it is very hard to jump from back office into front office. Saying that, there a lot of people on here who also say to not listen to doubters and that it is more than possible.

I am currently in backoffice and definitely want out. I am currently planning to start applying internally once my 1 year is up. until then, I am going to do my best to pass level 2 and get into MBA/MFIN. Hoping with this and some networking I can move internally into a front office role.

since you passed level 2 I would keep trying for those analytical roles and avoid getting into back office at all. If you are not having any luck after a while, maybe go apply at like SS or bny mellon and get a backoffice role for nwo and keep searching while you have some sort of income.