Career shift advice

I graduated from BU in 2010 and have since worked as a financial analyst for a VC (1 year), a technology incubator/startup (4 years), for a logistics firm (3 years).

I’d like to move into equity research or portfolio management which is why I decided to pursue the CFA designation.

Given my above experience:

1. How likely would be I be able to find a job in equity research/portfolio management after I pass level 3 exam, given that I have no prior experience in those fields?

2. What salary range should I expect/ask for if I decide to work in cities such as Boston, NYC, Chicago, DC?

I’m an 08 BU grad.!! yeah BU.

Frankly its brutal… not to be discouraging but I m a Charterholder… have 8 years experience in the industry and 4 years working in equity research and having a hard time right now finding a new job… I made a mistake moving to project finance /credit and feel like my career is over. at this point I have a better chance of hitting the mega millions tonight than landing a high speed equity research job.

most firm’s would rather just hire a fresh graduate from top 10 school than a career changer nearing 30. you’re also competing with MBA grads and people that have years ofGOOD experience. I don’t know what else to say… it’s tough

obviously if you know someone that is Managing Director - partner of a firm they can get you in tomorrow… but other than having an amazing connection you need to be super sharp… and an expert in accounting/ spreadsheet modeling if you ever get lucky enough to land an interview… there is no more time for management training programs or learning on the job. they want people that are turn key ready.