Part-time MBA vs. Full-time MBA?

After plenty of research, I’ve decided to look into getting my MBA to try and break into the investment field (I’m a BU graduate, majored in Finance with +7 years of experience mostly as Financial Analyst but 1 year with VC). However, it would make more sense for me to sign up for a part-time MBA program to be able to afford going to school and covering my living expenses.

My question is, do employers have a preference between part-time/full-time MBA programs? I will be considering the top part-time MBAs such as Booth, Berkley, NYU Stern, UCLA, Northwestern etc.

P.S: I understand that there are many advantages to enrolling in a full-time program vs. part-time such as more opportunities to network, access to on-campus recruiting events etc. but I’m wondering if employers have a preference between the two…

Thanks

Employers don’t have to know, unless if you volunteer it. The degree is the exact same from a part-time program as compared to the full-time program. Executive MBAs are not the same, though.

I cannot agree with your statement. Part Time MBA and Full Time MBA are very different. The latter has much higher average GMAT and GPA among accepted students and most importantly, much stronger students in terms of career and career trajectory.

Also, the name of the MBA schools are different for some schools, a prime example is NYU. Full Time MBA is Stern while Part Time is Langone. One of the reasons I am going for EMBA at Columbia and not PT NYU is because the quality of student body lacks BIG TIME compared to that of FT and EMBA. In PT, you got guys from BO, recruiters, low level commercial brokers, execution traders, IT people…