Need some advice for social network

Hi! Everyone!

Good Morning!

I’m a CFA Level 3 candidate and got the master degree of finance from UC riverside two years ago. I have been working for a non finance-related company for two years, because of my immigrant status and sponsorship.

Now I want to find a job in the investment industry (prefer equity researcher and financial analyst), but I can accept any job that can at least open the door for me at the investment industry.

I know my weakness for the job applying process very clearly—limited social network resources. Because of that, it’s even hard for me to get into the first round.

I’m thinking about finding some volunteer jobs (finance-related) for people who have extensive experience and resources in the financial industry already and build a relationship with them. Then they probably will use their resources to offer me a job opportunity or at least a interview opportunity.

I don’t know know how to find a volunteer job that will worth my time. Cause I don’t get paid, so the quality of employer very be super important.

What do you guys think about this idea or you guys have better suggestion for me?

“I know my weakness for the job applying process very clearly”

I think the weaknesses are more like:

1. Non prestigious university degree

2. No relevant experience

3. Require visa sponsorship

With that being said, your idea of finding entry level unpaid work is not a bad one. You have other hurdles to overcome as well, but that is not a bad thing to do.

Hi! ohai!

Yes! These probably are more like my biggest weaknesses for job searching!

Do you have any suggestion for finding a entry level unpaid work. For example like any platform or website you can recommend or other ways that I can know and get close to the potential employer.

Thank you so much!