Is changing industries a wise career choice?

Primary Question:

I’m a corporate financial analyst within the healthcare industry with 2.5 years of experience and I have a MBA as well. I recently received a job offer at a medium sized company within the testing laboratories industry in the orange county area of southern California. The role I’m in is more FP&A and the new role is a pricing and analysis role.

Should I stay in the same industry or does it not matter? Just follow where ever the money is.

Secondary Question:

I’m thinking about negotiating my salary and was wondering if its worthwhile to do so. I’m currently make $52K. I asked for $65K and I was offered $68K. The online salary sites say the median salary for my experience and location is around $68K and personalized salary reports say I’m worth around $75K. Is it worth trying to squeeze a few more thousands or even trying to get the $75K.

I’m kind of ok with the offer. But if I’m worth $75K, am I selling myself short. Also, I know its difficult to get decent raises once you start working. I’m wondering if I should negotiate salary or take the offer? Thank you.

You should have done the research beforehand imo. It’s greedy for you to ask for money, get an offer for more, and then ask for a new number… I’d never try this in a flat organization, but if this is a large company where all the negotiating is separate from my future bosses then maybe I would do it.

They already know you will work for $65k… it seems difficult to think that they would entertain your request for $75k. In fact, they might become angry, since they probably think they were being nice for offering about your asking price to begin with. This would be different if something has changed, such as if you received a substantial raise at your current job or you received another job offer.