I am an undergraduate senior graduating in May and still do not have a job.

Hi,

I am an undergraduate senior with interest in finance (risk management, quantitative analysis, and structuring roles).

I have been very actively looking for jobs… without much success.

I have had many final round interviews with banks, funds, fin techs firms, etc., but I have not had a job offer yet.

Now that I am graduating in four weeks, I am very anxious and cannot focus on studying.

Fortunately, I have a green card, so I do not have to leave the country after I graduate. Right now, I am based in NYC.

My family lives in Atlanta. It seems like the best choice for me is to stay in NYC (instead of going back to Atlanta), work part-time (at a restaurant, supermarket, or something), get a tiny room in Queens or some cheap area, and keep looking for full-time roles. What do you guys think? Going to grad school is not an option, because my family cannot support me financially and, in fact, I have to support them in a few years because my parents would not be able to work due to their physical conditions.

Does anyone have advice please??

Sounds like you are close if you are getting final round interviews, can you figure out why you didn’t make the final cut? Also if finance is a problem you can always take out a loan? Keep doing what you are doing and try to figure out what went wrong during final interviews may help you secure the offer.

Why did you think you did not make the cut in the final rounds?

Agreed. If you’re making it into the final rounds then you’re pretty close, just try and reflect back on the interviews and what it is that might be the cause for not getting an offer yet.

Regarding grad school, I would suggest getting some experience prior to doing that and as klaudine mentioned, loans are always an option, just need to consider the cost-benefit analysis of this option.

Thank you for your reply.