Advice on a Career in Securities Research

Hello All,

I will start with a little background on myself. I am from a midwestern state and went to a local university that wasn’t incredibly special but ranks about top 100 in the US. I studied economics, became SAS base level certified, and was focused in doing work in data analytics for one of the Fed offices or something similar. My GPA was about 3.4 overall - primarily due to one really bad semester.

Coming out of school I ended up taking on a passion project helping a local businessman open a nice restaurant. My focus was on hiring, procurement of product, marketing, etc. I was being compensated much more than I would have been doing most other jobs and was having a great time. However, I knew that the late hours and type of work wasn’t going to be a long term engagement. I started to look for other jobs similar to the ones that I had intended while in school but wasn’t having any luck.

Therefore, I decided to pursue an MBA as a way to break into a more stable career with better long-term prospects. I scored in the high 600’s on the GMAT which was fine because I wasn’t targeting a top 10 school. I applied to many schools in the top 20 - 30 but also applied to my alma mater per a request from my girlfriend who was interested in moving back to that town. My alma mater at the time ranked just in the top 50. After interviewing with many schools and getting some acceptance offers my alma mater gave me an offer that piqued my interest - all tuition paid. To consult on my decision I reached out to a mentor of mine who had worked for Price Waterhouse for decades and had hired numerous MBA grads. His take was that outside the top 10 MBA programs the differentiation isn’t great and that cost should be a larger factor in my decision making.