Breaking in to Finance from Mgmt. Consulting - H1B Visa Status - Florida

Hi All,

I am originally from Venezuela and I have been living permanently in the US since 2014. In 2015 I got an MBA with a concentration in Finance from Babson College in Massachusetts and as of 2015 have been working as a Sr. Management Consulting for local consulting practice in Florida (I currently live in Miami – Although I have been in some finance related projects the majority of the engagements I have had relate to project management).

I have always had an interest and passion for finance and actually started working as an analyst fresh out of college in Venezuela (I also hold a bachelor’s degree in business), but for reasons related to economics and politics over the course of the last 15-20 years capital markets have been pretty much dead/non-existing in Venezuela.

I have successfully passed the first two levels of the CFA program and planned to take the third level next June (if I manage to pass I would have successfully passed all three levels in my first try – not that I think that matters…). I am currently employed under an H1B visa and plan to have a more permanent status shortly (I have been living with my GF whom is and American for three years now, and have as of recent been thinking about given that final step).

Like I said, I have always had a passion for finance, during my MBA I managed a portion of the schools endowment money in a 100% equity fund, and progressively discovered that I wanted to have a career somewhere on the buy-side in an analyst role and maybe hopefully later down the road as a money manager. I am aware, that these positions are hard to get and as such, my second best option would be to take a client facing role that combines some of the learnings that came with consulting (i.e. dealing with clients, addressing needs, etc.) with investment management (although I am entirely sure that a role like this exists as of present)…