My firm is hiring "Institutional trader"

Except it’s in Chicago. The role would be to process equity & fixed income trade orders generated by our SMA managers, and allocate their step-in/out trades with all the broker dealers that hired those SMA managers.

It’s a big deviation from why I’m studying the CFA curriculum, as the job doesn’t require/care for the CFA, but, trading has always been a dream job of mine and this would probably be a great position to have on my resume for a few years

have any of you ever worked on a desk? What could it turn into? Salary? Isn’t this industry dying?

also, why tf would I ever want to leave Denver for Chicago?

this is execution trader position…I have said it a few times on AF that we - hedge fund i worked at - have traders that are execution traders…When they are out on vacation, our back office guys take his role (dir of ops).

Basically it is an ops job but the word trader throws them off. Soon to be replaced by computers. meh.

True, if I were to buy anything it is because someone told me to. Sorry if I made it sound like the title implied anything close to what they’re doing at citadel. So, what are job prospects if you spend 2-3 years as an execution trader?

Our Head of Trading makes a few million a year, so I guess it could turn into that?

Is he hiring? I’ll send you my resume right now.

More buy side firms nowadays are creating defined trading departments due to some kind of information segregation with research or asset managers. So, it is likely that these positions will persist for a while. While they are subject to risk from automation, regulation, or other industry changes, the same can be said for any function (well, other than compliance I guess).

Regarding relative attractiveness of this job… it really depends on your current job. I don’t know why you would choose one city over another. If you don’t want to move to Chicago, then why even consider this?