Other Qualifications eg CGMA - UK based

I have been in investment research for nearly 15 years and spent some time in practice (including PwC) before that. I have CFA 1 albeit from a long time ago. My focus has been sell side and advisory, mainly to UK small and mid cap.

The strategic view I have on businesses, combined with the ability to read accounts and conduct advanced financial modelling could open up quite a different career path.

I think a Board level position, maybe CFO for a growth company could be the ultimate ambition. That might start in Investor Relations or internal M&A. Buyside and private equity are other areas of interest. Probably in UK or elsewhere in Europe although am open to ideas on location and industry.

I am looking at doing a bite sized qualification that could turbo charge my career. I have a management degree and CFA 1. I also have a hectic job and two young kids, who demand most of my time and money.

Finishing the CFA I think is just too intense for me and perhaps a bit limiting. MBA will probably need a new mortgage and is perhaps quite generic. I think accountancy qualifications are really versatile but ACA, ACCA, CIMA are a long haul. Perhaps id have some exemptions. I am not sure.

I think CMA is too US focussed for me.

On CIMA I have read that there is a fast track for experienced senior finance professionals to get the CGMA designation with just 1 exam. I am a director and head of department. Is this a thing?

Any other suggestions for a relatively short but worthwhile course? I know there is no substitute for hard graft and time committed but I need to be a little targeted here!

Thoughts gratefully received

Cmon guys. You must have some ideas! This is the key question - ‘I am looking at doing a bite sized qualification that could turbo charge my career.’