CFA Advice

Hello,

I’m new to the forum and joined for several reasons one of which is career advice. My background: I have an undergraduate degree in Finance and worked in Investment Operations for a well known Institutional manager for the first 11 years of my career. I stepped away from Financial Services 10 years ago to work on the revenue side of the Aviation industry (Account Management, Sales, Sales Management). I would like to transition back to Financial Services with a long-term career goal of Portfolio Management.

I have talked to several people in Financial Services over the past six months and most have told me that it will be very difficult to get back in. I was initially planning to go back to school for a MSF, but was told that a graduate degree will not increase my chances of being hired as most financial services professionals have a Masters, MBA or some sort of a graduate degree. I was further told that passing the CFA will most likely be my best shot at getting back in.

My question for you all is…do you agree with this advice? I know some HR professional are active members of the forum and I would love to hear from you too. I’m very serious about this “sort-of” career change and I have no problem sitting for the CFA; I just don’t want to kill myself studying for the next 3-5 years only to be passed over for job opportunities because I’ve been out of the business for awhile.

Thanks and I look forward to your responses.

James

Financial advisor or insurance agent is the easiest job to get. What you do from there is on you. If you want to be a portfolio manager, you should start managing portfolio’s. A lot of firms allow advisors to build their own portfolio’s for clients (within limits). Even the big firms. Join an RIA as an adviser and tell them your long term goal. Be careful of large corporate shops because they just want you to sell, sell, sell. You know… They’re not going to encourage studying for the CFA.