Probability of getting a job in investment banking

All,

I am new in the finance sector and trying to see what is feasible.

What are the hopes for a guy with following credential getting a job in investment banking -

Bachelor’s and master’s in metallurgical engineering,

Work experience - 10-11 years in mineral processing in mines around North America,

CFA level 3 and FRM part 2 candidate.

Current package (engineering) - USD 120,000

Thanks

Phil

It is difficult. Also the job is brutal. For example 9am to 11pm everyday except weekends. You will probably never relax a second. You need to be smart and have a lot of soft skills additionally.

”smart” is subjective. I’ve met a lot of unremarkable people in IB with regards to intelligence. I’d say you need to know excel pretty well, sacrifice your free time, and be a good ass kisser/bullsh@ter

Thank you guys.

Excel is not a problem. Sacrificing free time is also not a problem as long as compensation is there. It is good to know that level of difficulty in getting an IB job is high as that makes things interesting.

So, how to begin? Just search for jobs under IB on job search website?

Will my experience be a problem?

I am 36 years old. Will age be a problem?

Thanks

Possibly your age could be an issue. I wouldn’t openly disclose that to be honest. You’ll still come in as an analyst regardless of your work experience.

If you aren’t in a major finance hub be prepared to have a base comp of 60-90k with 40-100 percent in end of year bonus while working 80-100 hr weeks. Not sure why you wanna do this?

Thank you for giving an honest opinion. I was looking for some reality check.

Just wanted to ensure that i am not suffering from any of the two phenomena -

1. Grass is greener on the other side; 2) Pre mid-life crisis.

So, are you in IB?

Is IB your ultimate goal or are you looking at it as a stepping stone? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?