Next Step In My Career

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting. I would like some input as I’m looking of taking CFA level I in June 2018. CFA interests me because I have an interest in equites, I have a numbers mind, and I’d like to advanced my career in finance.

I have a B.S. degree in math and physics and a Master’s in biomedical engineering. I worked in medical research and have two published pieces of work that I did as a PhD candidate. I withdrew from my PhD program because of lack of funding from my principal investigator.

I’m a native New Yorker, and have always had a passion for business, reading company news, and the stock market. I bought my first stock through my mother when I was in the 7th grade ‘LU’. After withdrawing from my PhD program I decided that I wanted to work in finance. At the time the job market was not so good so I took one of the first jobs I applied to. I got that job, and been here for the past 5 years. I’m a stock broker and it’s been a great experience but I’d like to advance my career.

Skills I’ve learned on the job for the past 5 years. Cold calling, relationship building, raising assets from clients, trading stock/options, researching stocks, and being aware of current events. Most of my business is done over the phone but local clients I meet. I’m talented at what I do. I’m very good at the sales, I leverage my medical research background, and I’m very good at client acquisition and raising assets.

So why do I want a change? I’m currently frustrated because I feel like I’m not growing as a person. I’m also not happy with the culture that surrounds typical BD’s and stockbrokers. I like being around like minded people - educated, intelligent.

What I do like about my job? The compensation, raising money from my clients, client acquisition, fast pace environment, the hustle, entrepreneurial, the dream of making it big. I deal with just stock and I like that.