Need Help... career dilemma

Hi Guys!

I am coming here here for your help. I’ve lurked around on this forum a while and finally decided to join! Here’s my story and I hope you can help.

Background

I am a 23 year old banker. I work in retail banking specializing in private client coverage. We are a seperate segment within the bank but are right below private banking. Essential I am a Relationship Manager who manages clients from 250k minimum assets to 10mm. It’s a great job. Pays very well, offers great bonus, but it isn’t something I see myself doing forever. I definitely still want to keep growing. I mean, I’m still very young.

My primary job is wealth management within this role. Bringing net new money/deposits to the firm and converting it to AUM. I have about 450 clients now with about 140mm AUM.

Education

I go to a public state university in California. It is a Cal state. I major in finance and will graduate in 2 semesters. I have a 3.3 for now but will probably graduate with a 3.5. In one year I will have my bachelors.

i focused mainly on my career before my education because circumstances required me to do so.

Dilemma

i love my job. Pay is great, people are great. However, I get bored. I don’t get stimulated. I know, I get it… people will say you make great money, why leave? Because if you’re not happy doing it and you’re bored, then you’re not enjoying your career. I want a career I’m proud of!

i am trying to understand whether it is worth it for me to take my CFA, and try to jump into a hedge fund, or IB, or commercial banking/private banking as even an analyst. I have great sales background and numbers, but I lack formal credit training that most analysts get when they intern.

What would you do in my position? I want to get into an exciting career in high finance. An ideal role would be a Relationship Manager for a commercial bank, or private banking officer for a private bank, investment banking, or a portfolio manager for a hedge fund.