How to approach networking post graduation?

I’ve come to the realization that without networking, the likelihood of me landing any role is pretty slim. During undergrad, I had a job that allowed me to meet people. I even met some guy who worked in PE that was friendly and helpful but eventually lost touch…which I definitely regret now.

Now that it’s time to network again, I’m thinking of cold emailing & using Linkedin. How should I approach now that I graduated almost two years ago? I know it’s usually to network as a student but I don’t have that luxury anymore.

LinkedIn is your best bet. I posted this a while back in another thread. I copied it over and edited some parts, but feel free to ignore anything that doesn’t apply to you.

Email them in the morning (usually before 11 AM). This is the time when most people check their email the most and are most likely to respond. By the afternoon, most people are either so busy in work that they won’t respond to anything that isn’t work related, or are so frazzled that they will just delete your email. And if you email them in the evening or at night, then people can ignore these emails because they have time to review their emails in the morning and decide what’s important and what isn’t. And make sure when you email them, you mention the correct name and correct company. I once met a VP in TD who said that he got an email from someone who called him by the wrong name and spoke about Scotiabank in the email. This VP was still kind enough to meet the guy, but he said that most people won’t even touch such an email and in fact they may let their colleagues know so it hurts that person’s chances of getting a coffee chat with someone else from the company.