Question:Master of Finance vs CFA designation: career development

Hi guys, I am currently in Australia working in an wealth management firm as back office operation support role.

I did my 2 years master of Finance degree at the University of Melbourne before. Bachelor of finance at Lateobe university. Some of my colleagues pursuing CFA designation at the moment and said it will make the cv looks great but not compulsory for any finance/investment role.

My question is: for people like me already got an decent master finance degree, is it gonna be TOO redundant to pursue CFA again? Since my university hand book said 70% of CFA all 3 levels knowledge was covered by my previous degree, I wound not expect learning something totally different.

In terms of Job seeking, same question: do I need to do CFA if I got master finance already ? I feel like in Australia employers do not recongnise master degree fairly, if you guys are pursuing both cfa and ms finance, what are the most important reasons doing this?

• some says cfa is cheaper version of masters, other argues about cfa is more globally recongnised. But it’s seem like there are only small numbers of CFA Charter holders in Australia.

Could you guys please share me some ideas – pros and cons for pursuing both master of finance and CFA designation , cause I want make my decision wether should I study CFA or not?

Much appreciated