Way out of Asset management

I was interested if you could share some tips for career change out of asset management (equity). Since I graduated four years ago, I have been working as a buy-side equity analyst at a medium-size AM firm where I had previously interned. It’s not going too bad and I was even promoted to fund manager and pay is good too. Yet I cannot stop worrying what would happen if things go south with performance. I went through CFA to bolster my CV in case of such an eventuality but now I find out it doesn’t really open doors to mobility within fields. I recently applied to credit analyst positions as well as investor relations, to check my marketability, and was immediately rejected. I am seriously worried for my employability in case of a market downturn, all the more so as I have a family to support and age advances (I am now almost 30). To the point that I am now considering leaving my job and nice pay and taking a masters degree in financial controlling, you know, a boring job that is always on demand. Do you know what area could be a potential lifeline without going back to university, maybe real estate or risk management ? Or what certificates I could earn that give you opportunity to land a job without previous work experience (such as FRM perhaps)? I would appreciate any thoughts

Maybe see if one of your investors (endowment fund, family office, fof) has a spot.

game never changes homie

lever up portfolio. make fat fees now. store away for a rainy day. downturn hits. get fired. crush severance package in Cabo. start family office/ prop fund to mask unemployment. economy improves. get hired by somebody else.

rinse & repeat.

OP, can you get any kind of MBA or MS from a top 10 or hopefully, top 5 school? By far, this will be the best eye catcher on your resume and will make most people give you a chance. Part time programs are also ok.