Your thoughts please?

I’m pursuing CFA Level 2 (got a ‘did not pass’ this morning, I will retake next year). I have 7 years experience in Compliance program management and another 5 years in IT and financial services prior to that. I’m 36, been on mat leave for 3 years now. Cant go back to previous employer because we’ve moved countries for husband’s job in Canada. I started with the CFA program while on mat leave because I am interested in the subject and keen on moving into investment related jobs. I’m trying to find an ‘in’ into the industry but its hard finding takers without prior experience (not surprised, I must add) even in basic modeling and valuations. I’m thinking of going the personal blog route where I chose an industry and a few companies to stock pitch. Do you have better ideas on how to gain exposure from a potential employer? Also, I do feel stuck on getting started with the blog. Any forums where I can collaborate with other people to do some equity research? I’m looking to go through the process with someone atleast once so I can make sense of the mental fog I’m navigating through.

P.S: I have in the past received comments on how CFA is not the right choice at this age and stage in my life. I respectfully disagree with those thoughts, so pls keep them out of your responses. Thank you in advance.

There is 0% chance you will work as a research analyst.

I’m not trying to be rude, I know you don’t want to hear it, but there is no reasonably believable scenario or pathway in my mind I can create that ends with you in a research role. I’m trying to save you wasted time chasing an impossible role in a declining and increasingly crappy field.