Career guidance

so I’m trying to eventually become a financial analyst. I have a BA in business economics from a 4 year college, but I only took a couple accounting courses. I’m not even eligible to take the CPA exam in my state (california). I heard that accounting jobs could help me get my foot in the door like staff accounting, accounts payable/receivable, but I really don’t have that accounting experience that anyone’s looking for. I was thinking about going for an associate’s in accounting from a community college, but it seems there’s a limit with that as it’s not enough to become an actual accountant. I’m studying for the CFA exam, but I want to see if there’s other things I can do to make progress towards becoming a financial analyst. I don’t want to put all my eggs in one basket and have everything weighing solely on that exam. what are some good ways to break into financial analysis?

What’s your age? If you want to do accounting but can’t get your foot in the door, it may be best to do a Masters in Accounting at a reputable school somewhere. From my understanding that is a pretty fool proof way assuming you do well.

I’m 25. I was considering going for an mba with an accounting or finance concentration, but my undergrad gpa was pretty low when I graduated. I’m skeptical if any graduate programs would accept me, but I’m open to the idea. is there any other way I could get accounting experience without going to university? is there any other way to get into finance without being an accountant first?

“Financial Analyst” is very broad. It could mean so many things. I was on an interview last week for a Senior Financial Analyst position at a big firm (top 5 by market cap so take a guess) and they had no idea wtf the CFA program was. But assuming you’re interested in quant analytics, here’s what I’d suggest: