Equity Research as an undergrad aiming to be Portfolio Manager after CFA completion

I’m a recent undergrad in a regional asset management working as equity analyst (1yr), does working in a BB like Credit Suisse while doing my CFA (Level 2 Candidate) would improve my CV and would add value to my skill set if my ultimate goal is to be portfolio manager? or it is better to stay in the buy side?

I’m going to attempt to translate this. Let me know if I missed the mark.

“I’m a recent college graduate who’s been working with a regional asset manager as an equity analyst for the past year. Would working at a top tier firm like Credit Suisse look better on my CV? I’m also a L2 candidate with the ultimate goal of becoming a portfolio manager. Should I pursue opportunities at big name firms even if it means moving over to the sellside, or should I remain on the buyside while honing my skills?”

Assuming I’m better than Google Translate, I would recommend staying where you are. You’re on the right career path already, and working for CS or The Goldman Sachs isn’t going to really help unless you want to move up the ranks there. Plus, if it means having to move to the sellside, hell no.

So, I’ll take the other side on this one. Working on the buy side is great and to STL’s point you’re already on the buy side so that aspect of it is true. The sell side to buy side transition can sometimes be tricky.

HOWEVER, over time having worked on the sell side can add a layer of brand name to your resume and be very valuable experience that is particularly valuable if your current buy side firm is not a premier shop and since you’ve already had buyside experience I think the move back would not be too difficult. It’s very possible to get stuck in second or third tier asset management firms for your career for this reason.