Buyside -> Private Wealth Management

I’ve got an offer for a PM role at a PWM firm. I curently work at a hedge fund as an APM. The comp is roughly the same after some negotiating. They don’t expect me to do any of the sales, just the IPS and allocations and some meeting with clients. The firm is tiny ($200M AUM) but I’d be one of two people actually managing money and they’ve given me this whole verbal “you’ll be a partner in a few years and we’re going to kill it, etc.” I’m considering making the leap for the work-life balance improvement but wondering about your thoughts on one of my biggest worries which is if I make this switch I may never be able to come back into the buyside. What are your thoughts? I have 6 years buyside experience (straight out of school) and fear if I take this risk with this firm, I’m basically in Wealth Management forever. True/False?

A) I can’t stand it when RIAs call themselves PMs. I assume this is what your prospective job is? You wouldn’t be a PM. PMs have products attached to them…

B)ut I digress. Yes, going into wealth management will dampen your buyside opportunities.

C)onversely, if the wealth management firm grows to a multi billion dollar firm and you’re in line to get equity, you could make way more money than many on the buyside.