Will pursuing CFA help get foot in door to finance?

So to make this quick as I have to run out, I am considering sitting for the L1 in December. I am trying to get my foot in the door at a finance firm. I figure maybe passing my L1 will show my commitment to this. But after reading some comments on this forum, seems I may be just wasting my time. Seems there are a lot of others that actually have their CFA and experience and are out of work. I know this is a huge commitment so I’m not taking it lightly. Maybe my dreams of working on ‘Wall St’ are exactly that, dreams. To put things in perspective, I’m 36 live near NYC, no family yet, but plan on getting married end of year. I graduated with a BBA from Temple Univ in Philly and was doing some day-trading years ago. Left that (made a living, not a killing) and pursued a position at a start-up company which I left in October as I was not being paid the commissions that were owed to me (will be filing a lawsuit soon with another ex co-worker) Just trying to figure out what to do. I am fortunate to be working now, but not in the finance field and it’s just temporary to pay the bills but it is very good money. I just feel like I need to start working on something to move forward in my career. Any input is appreciated. Thanks dukedog

Well, I think most would say on here that you have to like finance a WHOLE lot to study CFA. I have no idea if it opens doors like that, but good luck to you

If you like finance, specifically asset valuation, then go for your CFA. If you like accounting go for CA. If you want to be a financial planner look into the CFP.

what do you do now ?

I think there is a good chance taking level 1 will help get your foot in the door. Also remember there is the psychological benefit- which I think is very really- that progress through the program affords, in terms of believing it’ll open up doors for you. Go for it. And go Owls!!!