I got an intern offer.. need advice.

Hi guys. So here is my situation. I graduated in 2008 and as you you can imagine, was out of luck when it came to the banking industry. I had done a co-op term before hand, so I knew some guys at least… but even they weren’t hiring. This summer, one of the senior guys I did coop for decided to leave and start up his own ibank. I have done some free bitch work for him just to stay in the loop and at least have some sort of connection to the finance world. Originally when we talked in the summer, he had told me that I might be able to get a job with his company once things pick up there. Fast forward to about 2 months ago. He emailed me and said "hey, we might have enough work for you to give you a full time position in a few weeks. Fast forward to yesterday, when one of his partners called me and asked me to come in for a talk… they wanted to see if I was interested in a 90 day intern position with $0 base salary. But basically, they are offering to pay me a working fee related to successful deals. Of course, all fees are “discretionary”. Right now I have an unrelated job that isnt in finance, doesnt pay well, but at least it pays. It would have to mean leaving this job for something unpaid, which sucks cause I’m in debt. I’m also disillusioned cause I was under the impression that it would be a full time, salary gig (thats what i took away from “we might have enough work for you to give you a full time position in a few weeks”). On the one hand, I feel like i might be getting stiffed. On the other hand, this could be my last chance at breaking into the industry. Btw, I live in Calgary, so breaking into finance is kinda sketish here right now. Anyone here have some optics on the situation or could give me some sage advice?