if you were me, would you take the level I?

Hi! New to the forum. I am not sure to take the level I and I need advice! A little background. I am international and I have 6 years of work experience (trading and research in commodities in a consumer good company) I have been recently admitted top-5 MBA program (starting in September 2011). Now I have a lot of free time and I was thinking in taking the level I in order to improve my resume. I would like to work as trader or in PE after my MBA. If I take the level I (and of course if I pass it) I am not going to be able to do the level II and III until I finish my MBA Should I study for the level I or relax, start reading books and prepare for the MBA and then take the CFA? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

If you have enough free time that you can devote 250 hours to studying between now and June 4th, you should take a crack at Level I this spring. Don’t take the December exam though; an MBA is expensive and you should focus on it. Where are you going in September… Columbia? Kellogg? MIT ?

I agree, if you’ve got enough time to devote to it, do it. Then you’ll have a better idea of what the program’s about (although the levels differ from each other of course) and will be at least marginally better informed when it comes to thinking about a career path.

Traders don’t need the CFA charter. passing L1 doesn’t mean much anymore. I wouldn’t do it. This board is filled with CFA candidates who devoted hundreds of hundreds of hours to studying for the CFA, so you’ll get a “yes do it” bias. But in reality, if you definitely won’t take L2 and L3 for at least a couple of years, L1 won’t do anything for you

Agree with Captain and Wendy. If you are going to do it soon or later and have enough time for it, why not now? Matriculating to Booth maybe?