CPA, FRM and CAIA instead of CFA

I am a CPA and was hoping that a FRM and CAIA, with the CPA, might be thought of having the same weight as a CFA. Trying to go to analyst position in regulatory agency. Am I crazy? I would still have to take the FRM and CAIA, but from what I’ve read the CFA is a b— kicker.

Wildcat Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I would still have to take the FRM and CAIA, but from what I’ve read the CFA is a b— kicker. So you think it’d be easier to do the FRM and the CAIA yet want it to hold the same weight as the CFA?

95% of the western population does not know what the CFA is. 99.99% of western populations do not know what either the FRM or CAIA is. why would you spend just as much time getting designations that are unknown by almost all of your peers, including financial professionals.

Hmm, I don’t think laziness should be a motivation in choosing which of these exams to take.

Either option would take a few years to do. Why not just try to get your foot in the door first and see what others who are there would advise you on for moving up? It is a regulatory agency, they may not care.

I was thinking of studying for FRM and CAIA and hedging my risk by teaching CFA.

buck up lil bronco and do the CFA. Unless you want to go alternatives or risk management only, then do the more specific one. I would think regulatory agency L1 or L2 would be good enough to at least get an interview (depending on your work experience and academic background).

CPA, CAIA, FRM, + CFP = CFA Just to let you know… you’ll need to get the CFP to get the appropriate weighting and have something similar to CFA Here in the AF community we refer to this as “Alternative CFA Construction” AKA “Mosaic Construction”

Have you considered MBA?

Uh, I would run away from someone who has CPA + CAIA + FRM + CFP. That’s just weird.