Does an MBA hold the same weight anymore?

This is obviously pure anecdotal but I work in finance for a 2nd tier consulting company. There is a new hire, working in the same department as me, that is making 5k more than me but this person has an MBA from Columbia vs my MSF from Loyola University Maryland (I’m in my late 20’s). This makes you wonder about if the MBA degree is becoming so proliferated that it’s loosing it’s earning potential. Any thoughts? I’m starting to think that unless you go to Kellogg, Wharton, HBS, or Chicago you’re wasting your time/money getting an MBA!

It’s all relative and you’re basing some assumptions off of one person. Did that person switch careers? $5k isn’t much of a difference, as you said, but the information you provided isn’t useful unless we know your base salary. The same thing can be said for JDs, MDs, etc… As additional b schools pop up around the world and more people try to obtain their MBAs, the elite schools will become even more prestigious and harder to get into. Most people will now say that unless you attend a top 25 program an MBA will probably have a negative NPV over the course of that person’s life. Post-MBA salaries start to drop off once you get out of the top 20-25 programs.

@Chuck, Show me yours and I’ll show you mine… I wouldn’t agree with your assertion about an MD though. An MD takes 8-10 years of study (not including undergrad), very competitive application process, and numerous exams. IMO, an M.D. will for the foreseeable future be a degree that’s worth it’s weight in gold. Any MD> Top MBA> Top JD

Zesty, MBAs have never been the top tier. Just a reasonable way to get to a pretty comfortable spot in life. If one’s doing really well in one’s career at 27, one doesn’t bother going back to get an MBA because the opportunity cost is too high.