BA Psychology and 1 yr. Finance Experience

Hi Everyone, This is my situation: I have a BA in Psychology (graduated May 2010) and was blessed with a great opportunity to enter finance after I graduated. I have had no exposure to finance before my work experience. I currently work as a financial analyst in the banking industry. Fortunately, I have a God-given talent of understanding math relatively easily (I scored a 750 on the Quantitative portion of the GRE), so this is what has attracted me to being an analyst. Recently, I have seriously been considering going for the CFA. My question to you guys is: is this reasonably doable for me, given my lack of finance knowledge? Let’s say I put in 300 hours for Level 1 in December… do I have a decent chance? dorshem

Fortunately, I think you have a chance. IF God is willing to bless you again

Yes. Start in about August, take your studies seriously, rack up 3-400 hours and you’ll be fine. Far dumber sounding candidates with far weirder backgrounds have passed level one with far less time. Main thing is to take the exam seriously, put in the study time, and start taking mocks early so you can figure out where you suck. Go get 'em.