Hedge fund internship advice / keys to success

Hi All, I hope you’re all having a nice summer so far. I just finished my first year of business school and recently started my summer internship at a long-short equity firm. I’m responsible for primarily doing analysis on and generating new investment ideas in healthcare and consumer sectors. I have prior experience to these sectors through my experience in sell-side equity research and private equity, but this is my first time working at a hedge fund. I’m sure my roles and responsibilities will evolve over time, but some of the things I’ve been responsible so far are the following: - Financial modeling - New investment idea generation – for the last few days, I’ve been tasksed with taking a “first stab” at evaluating a company, i.e. assessing investment merits, risks, opportunities, areas of further diligence, and first glance at valuation – typically 1-2 page single spaced memo and basic excel model – for 1-2 stocks per day - Sit in on meetings with sell-side analysts - Participate on calls with other buy-side investors Given the information above, I had a few questions for any other buy-siders that can give some advice: (1) What are the most important skills I should aspire to develop this summer, in order to improve my own investment acumen along with my positioning for full-time recruiting? (2) When you guys think about “successful MBA interns,” what are some skills they’ve accomplished during the summer or what are the things they have done for your firm? (3) The internship is fairly unstructured, so I have the opportunity to define some of my own goals and success benchmarks. At the same time, I started without necessarily having a concrete idea of what goals and objectives would be necessary for the team to think I had a productive summer. Thus, what would you say are some goals I should aspire to accomplish, and what is the type of training and feedback I need from my portfolio manager / senior analysts to en