CFA to make move into I.T?

Hi guys,

I need your advice. I am currently working in a front office doing equity research, and really want to make a transition to IT. I’m wondering if the CFA charter will help me do this? I did my MBA at Wharton and did a couple of internships at MS and Goldman, but need a change. I am finding it very difficult to make the transition into IT. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Mustard

Have you thought about becoming an engineer?

Make sure you network

This is not even funny anymore, you troll.

We’re afraid your intelligence cannot handle the complexities of IT work.

Writing CFA to swtich into IT?? I think you are already on the wrong path.

Only BSDs can switch to IT.

Wharton is home to the moron prof who shaved his head and then found a correlation between perception of power and bald head. Just saying.

You know, I do know somebody who started off working on manager due diligence for a FoF and then worked his way into IT after starting the CFA program…out of choice.

You can make a pretty good living out of IT, I’d be willing to bet you can make more than most of the shitkicking jobs in finance.

In the financial sector, a developer with 5 years experience can easily be making $150-$300K a year.

Let me pull my thread from 10 years ago with exactly same title.

Youngesters need to have some respect for seniors on this forum

300k is pushsing it, for 300k with 5 year experience you either need to be very lucky to make into management or need to have very solid math background (MFE from top 5 minimum)

IT has more future prospects than finance. This industry is contracting.