No Ivy-league degree, mid-30s, CFA?

I am a CPA and have a MBA degree, however.

There is so much talk about how IB & PE only hires ivy-leaguers, or top public-university grads…my school reputation is okay, nothing impressive.

Now, I wonder if I become a charter, will that get me in the door? Or the hiring decision will still be based on my school credential?

Also, how many hours do portfolio manager, investment analyst…etc work per week? I like to have a big raise but I think it should be looked at at the hourly rate not yearly salary/bonus.

mid-30s with a CPA and MBA? your work experience is the key factor that will determine if you get in the door.

Honestly, back in the day IB was like a frat. It’s either who your dad knew or what school you went to. I find that over the years, that barrier has come down some bit. But on the flip side, with companies cutting back on recruiting, you’ll find many companies stop conducting fresh full time interviews. Whether its analyst or associate level, they tend to take from the summer pool since a) they already know them b) cuts down on the cost having to make a 2nd trip. And unfortunately, most summer programs are based on some “target” list of schools which usually reflect top tier schools, with the exception of 1 or 2 in which a top exec has close alumni ties.

Back to your question, it’s a tough market still so yes, companies have the right to be “selective.” Being a charter can’t hurt but I don’t see it giving you a huge edge b/c 1) in the fields that do recognize it (portfolio, research), most solid candidates already have them and 2) in the fields that don’t recognize as much (banking), it’s just another “check in the box”. It doesn’t give a huge edge, but it certainly helps. I do find that more international banks put more weight on the cfa than domestics though.

Given your age and experience though, I’d rely more on your network you’ve built up over the years.