Wallst-training! with Hamilton Lin. Have you tried them?

Just curious if anyone has used their products (modeling classes). If so, what are you thoughts. i’ve seen some sample videos on youtube and Mr. Lin seems like a great instructor.

thanks!

I did a few of his things. The material is decent. Mr. Lin is a bit too into himself and projects that banker douchebag attitude that can fool the uninitiated, but with enough weak geeky jokes to undermine his BSD credentials. I found the material useful, but when he started telling me how if you put extra long significant digits on things, people won’t suspect that you’re just inventing numbers out of thin air, all it really did was make me wonder how much stuff he’s telling me is made up out of thin air.

I did in college. They provided a discount, it was solid…back in spring 2009 though when I was a sophomore and a noob about everything.

Did you guys do his advance LBO/Merger modeling course? How advance is it? So far

1+

.35+ (lol)

Clearly that was a joke! in the real world a small decimal matters ( $1.91 vs 1.91458 ).

No, he was offering “life advice” about what to do when you don’t know the answer to something. His suggestion, make up something that sounds plausible, doll it up a lot, and hope they don’t check. Remember, his background is IB/M&A, not AM.

Yes, there was a wink wink, nod nod, and it was meant to be funny, but there was also a dash of seriousness about it.

what classes did you take from him?

It was a long time ago… I did the LBO modeling one. I did “How to read a 10K,” and I did his “Excel skills” one. The first two were done at NYSSA, the Excel one was done online.