Thank you letter

Hi everyone,

I am currently active in the job market, and have a face-to-face interview coming up next week. I have previously worked in operations and accounting but my interest is in financial services and anything related to financial markets (obviously why I am on this site)

About my upcoming interview, it is with a large bank. I will be interviewing for the position of an economic capital analyst. I have interviewed for 3-4 roles previously but this would be the perfect fit for me and I really want to make an excellent impression next week. I know it is customary to send a thank you email after an interview. I was wondering if it would be OK to maybe send a typed and signed letter in the mail instead? Is this acceptable, a good idea, or too creepy, I am not sure. It is old fashioned but I really want to stand out, be remembered, and land this job. I studied economics, and jobs that actually require economics are very difficult to come by. What do you think about me idea? Thanks!

It’s ok to do a hand written one if you want. But I don’t believe it will add that much value and it won’t be the reason you get the job.

And on the downside, it would likely take at least 2-3 days for the person to get it. Office mail generally is slow and lagged a lot. By then, it’s probably already decided who is making it to the next step, or who is cut.

On second thought, don’t bother.

Nothing wrong with a quick email thank you and follow up with a note.

Notes impress older people more than younger ones. Heck, if the guy who interviewed you is only a year or two older, you might even be able to get away with an email saying “Thx, mtg u was gr8!”