One year until I can even register for my CFA level I exam. What to do until then?

Hi guys,

I have 2 years left in my degree and as such I have to wait 1 more year until I can register for the CFA level I exam. As for some background, I’m studying for a Major in Finance, and this coming semester I’m going to be taking a portfolio management course that doubles as the Canadian Securities Course.

I was wondering what else I can do until then to help prepare me for these exams?

In addition to this, I was telling my brother (studying to be an Actuary, has is ASA) about my intentions to pursue the CFA and he told me to use the ‘LevelUp’/‘AdaptPrep’ study notes/program. Any vouches for this over the other ones?

Thanks

You could buy used books and get an idea of the curriculum and type of questions. Other than that, a finance major should be enough background to help you pass when you start preparing eventually. Many candidates register with zero background in finance, and still pass with some hard work.

#EnjoyLife

yep, I had zero background and I passed with 5 mo of study. Enjoy your time on college.

Totally agree with these guys.^

There are a lot more worthwhile things you can be doing in college than prepping for the CFA. Get an internship. Volunteer for research with a professor. Take another couple 400 level classes. Try to get something published. Start a business. These will help you way more starting out than whatever nose you can get ahead on CFA studies. You always have time to prep for the exam closer to the time you will be taking it.

That’s not even to mention other really important things you really should be focused on in college - like developing good friends and relationships, finding new interests and passions, getting involved socially and politically, experimenting with new… experiences. Take it from a guy looking back over 20 years, that’s the stuff that will be meaningful.