Mosaic or Ethics Violation?

On the news this morning there was a headline about 40 cases of Hep A confirmed in assocition with some smoothie Cafe.

If you’re a doctor (and a CFA charterholder) and happened to see all 40 of those patients and determined that the common denominator was a publicly traded food joint (vis a vis Chipotle), I’m assuming it would be considered part of your mosaic to short the company before the information becomes public, rather than insider trading?

of course that’s Mosaic

Yikes! I’m not clear this would fall into mosaic theory at all and may be illegal outside of insider trading rules. Additionally, I imagine the doctor would have a potential violation of his medical ethics (and may be subject to sanction by his medical licensing body) if he traded against confidential patient information regardless of the materiality of any particular case. Also, I’m no HIPAA expert, but you may have some kind of issue there as well.

A little info: https://depts.washington.edu/bioethx/topics/confiden.html

Edit: Also consider, Mosaic theory is intended to apply to outsiders picking up and putting together a bunch of pieces of non-material, non-public information. It’s not intended for insiders with a duty of confidentiality to grab as much non-public information as they can to trade against. An insider breach of his confidentiality obligations is a violation, regardless of if the violation involves a single iota of non-material information.

mosaic for sure. now, if this doctor was also a CFA Charterholder and a research analyst and is going to publish a note on his findings AFTER he traded, then he’s got problems

Good point. Even if the doctor hadn’t been a charterholder I am sure his actions would be a violation.