CFA Work Experience Must Be Related to Securities?

In the past few years, I have been a management consultant advising firms on project-oriented investment decisions. For example, deciding whether to rent a technology, deciding whether to spend money to partner with another firm, deciding whether to extend product discounts to a customer group, deciding whether its more profitable to launch in New York vs. California etc. The analyses are partially based on industry knowledge and partially based on financial modeling (calculating NPV, ROI, estimating cost and optimal amount to invest, etc.). I don’t help them manage their funds and I don’t have any visibility into how they will raise their capital.

I took the CFA self-assessment quiz (https://www.cfainstitute.org/community/membership/process/Pages/work_experience.aspx) and it says my experience most likely DOES count, which surprised me.

I thought the work experience must be related to securities or at least private equity. Am I wrong…? I think the phrase “investment decision-making process” is a bit vague. Does investing in a technology / project / partnership / customer count as investment for CFA purposes?

From the CFA website:

• Evaluating or applying financial, economic, and/or statistical data as part of the investment decision-making process; supervising persons who conduct such activities; or teaching such activities.

For a position to qualify, at least 50% of your time should be spent directly involved in the investment decision-making process or producing a work product that informs or adds value to that process. Work must be full time and can be earned before, during, or after participation in the CFA Program. Managing your own investments or the investments of your family or friends (without compensation) does not qualify.

For each job description, you should describe your job duties and how they relate to investment decision making. Each description needs to: