Is the CFA worth it if I want to become a fund manager?

Gonna make this short and sweet

I’m a 4th year finance student and I ultimately want to open my own fund.

I come from a non-target school in Canada, my GPA is trash (but my finance courses are all good), and I have no formal experience.

Should I register to do the CFA?

Yes

Get that cfa kid! Also consider studying for GMAT and although you may not want to you should volunteer. Just put in 2 hours or even an hour a week on sat or sun mornings. by the time you are ready to apply for mba youd probably have sizable hours in community service. it will pay off down the road. bang out the cfa and definitely study for gmat and volunteer work. While doing cfa level 1 take up self modeling courses.

You’ll probably still not succeed in your goal, but taking CFA won’t hurt.

OP, this is why you need to meet someone in person who has actually done it. They will not only give you constructive guidance but also confidence…Confidence as in trust in yourself that you can do it too. Good luck.

Do it, go all the way. I am more than happy that I took the decision to do it, although it was not easy (as the exam overlapped with my final semester at the university), it was worth it. Good luck

@ohai wow what a downer

@Nalbukhari, just don’t listen to those kind of people. You can do it, and will succeed in your goal if you work hard enough and if you believe in yourself.

@ohai: shame on you

This sort of advice can actually ruin someone. You should pursue your dreams, but also be realistic and know when to cut bait. Going the MBA/CFA route is extremely resource intensive. And becoming a PM that makes really good money is about as hard as it is to play professional sports.

Seems like OP has the passion to go for it, but that alone doesn’t pay the bills.

Meanwhile, becoming a Master Plumber is also hard work but much easier to achieve and they make good money. Just sayin’.