CFA or Masters in Finance for Science Grad

Alright, so seeing the other posts, I think I’m gonna get a lot of hate for this. But if even one person helps me out, you’re AWESOME!!

Okay so, I’m a third year student in college studying Psychology Neuroscience & Behaviour. When I started I thought I wanted to go to med school, hence why I’m in a BSc program. Anyways! Now I’m switching to pursue finance (my long lost love). Sure investment banking is the dream, but honestly I just like asset management, handling portfolios, participating in financial markets etc.

Here’s the situation, as you know I’m not in Bachelor of Commerce. To gain some background in finance, I’m doing a minor in Finance but that’s about it. If I want to enter the finance industry is it smarter to do CFA after the undergraduate degree or go for a Masters in Finance? Currently, I’m considering writing the CFA I exam in my fourth year. I know CFA I doesn’t mean much, but it is a starting point. I’m thinking of writing the Level I because I don’t have a formal background in business or finance. Also, do you guys think that companies will even consider me as a competitive candidate? I know there’s a ton of people who are like yea I was in basket weaving, applied for an analyst position, now I’m a hedge fund manager. But (I think, correct me if I am) those are exception cases.

Summary

• Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour undergrad with Minor in Finance
  • 3.95 GPA at top university in country
  • Huge interest and passion for finance

Questions

• CFA or Masters in Finance after undergrad?
  • What do you think are my chances of getting an entry level job after undergrad in the finance industry?
    • How would I go about doing that?
  • CFA or Masters in Finance after undergrad? CFA, as you said, you love asset management, CFA is better for that path