Pursue CFA Level 2 in June or secure job first?

Hi guys, I am currently in my final year of BComm and I was wondering if I should register right now for the June 2019 CFA level 2 exam or wait until I secure a job and get my company to sponsor me.

To give you more of a background, I attempted the Level 2 this June 2018 but didn’t pass unfortunately. So I already lost a bunch of money with that and I would be paying more money out of my own pocket for 2019 (im broke af rn). If I secure a job, I heard that I must wait at least 1-2 yrs to get a full-time position and only then will my company sponsor it…

One of the reasons I wanted to get the Level 2 over with asap is because I really don’t know if I will have enough time later on in my career to study for it and I think its easier to study now when I have all the finance material/studying habits still fresh from uni.

Any tips would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Speaking as a 30 something year old I’d say if its what you want to do go for it. There will never be a perfect time in your life to do these in my opinion, and the younger you are the better. I think it’s cheaper anyway if you are registering for a repeat too.

DO it NOW!

can you do both? they are not mutually exclusive

Take the job and the experience. 2 years isn’t that long. But, studying 2 hours a night is not a lot of work. Working professionals go back to school and get graduate degrees all of the time. I have a business and a family with a 4 year old and a 3 month old and I still have plenty of time to study. That said, I haven’t taken any CFA exams yet…

Also, in my observation, people who stop in the middle rarely return to complete a program. If you really want it, do what you can to finish it asap. Maybe the job will reimburse you. Or, maybe you won’t care when you start receiving that fat CFA check.