Ethics violation - Standard III E

Hello everyone,

I have an ethics question that I have been grappling with for a few months at work. It concerns Standard III-E: Preservation Of Confidentiality regarding client information. Here’s the story:

I am pursuing the CFA designation (obviously) and currently work in a firm that - among other things - does FX risk management. Without divulging too much, our firm deals with international customers that have to convert currencies to pay operating costs, repatriate profits, etc. We do this through basic spot transactions to more complex forward contracts, swaps options and structured products.

We also send money (once a client converts it) to their international suppliers. Payments are sent either via wire transfers (SWIFT) or ACH, SEPA, etc. depending on where the client is located in the world and the currency being sent. We use our own bank accounts to send the money in these cases. As a result, there is no way to trace the payment back to the actual company it was billed to unless our client specifies that we attach a reference in the transfer such as “Payment for invoice 123 from company ABC” in which case company ABC is our client.