What can CFA exam do for career

Hello friends,

I beginning to start the journey on CFA examination and wondering the benefits all of you have come across. I am background in statistics and engineering and currently 25 years of age.I hear a lot of very good things from several people. Aside from a lot of study hours I know that it is a much difficult process. Since I am new to CFA world I am wondering and curious to know the kind of jobs you may get and how much money people with CFA make. I read financial people around 30 years age without CFA in US make average around 80 thousand annual with 15-20% additional income. How does CFA affect this information?

Thank you for much needed input.

CFA won’t do much for your career besides maybe increase your interview-call rate by a small %. You’re more likely to pass the initial screening. Other Charterholders and candidates will value your efforts. That’s about it. It depends on how you apply what you learnt from the curriculum in your work. For example, if passing level II improves your valuation skills (maybe you have a better understanding of different discount rates and risk premiums), you’ll become a stronger analyst and thereby good things can happen in your career. If you pass level II by memorizing the formulas but do nothing to apply the knowledge in real life, that’s about as useful as a golf club in a football game.

You’ll find a lot of people say it doesn’t open doors - tell them thanks for the feedback and then write them off (for good).

Here’s my story: