Why is collecting beta a good thing?

"But, as a trader, I love the idea of having a market neutral book that *collects beta in a smart risk-adjusted way.*

Can someone translate this to English please.

Thanks.

85% of active managers fail to produce alpha consistently in large cap stocks. IDK what asset class he/she is specifically referencing, but capturing ‘beta’ is the cheapest way to produce long term full market cycle returns. There are thousands of factors out there that correlate with stock returns, only few are actually statistically significant. Here, beta just means market exposure which also means passive management which is cheaper than active and won’t produce excess returns. So, since research suggest for certain asset classes active stock picking is a stupid idea, so you might as well just follow an index. I’m guessing that’s why they say it’s a good idea. But, you’ve given us literally no context so I could have argued anything else too.

Here is a section of the article:

" Diversifying with over 15 uncorrelated return streams and balancing out your return per unit of risk, through sizing and leverage (ie, leveraging bonds to equal equity on a return per risk unit basis), can get you to a balanced global or market-neutral position.

_ This is where your risk is balanced out and you’re effectively clipping beta coupons from global markets and various asset classes. _

An important note I should make is that to build this market-neutral book you really have to understand cross-asset correlation.

Different asset classes will perform well in some stages and less well in others [growth and inflation]. But, as a global macro trader, I love the idea of having a market neutral book that collects beta in a smart risk-adjusted way."

Questions:

1. When he refers to clipping beta coupons, is he referring to buying bonds with options to achieve the same return as equities or borrowing money and purchasing bonds?